BBQ Meatloaf and stuff…

Good Morning!  It’s Friday and we are having some rain here in Chicago, accompanied by some minor thunder and lightning, which meant no sleep for me as my fur baby Sasha has anxiety attacks when this happens.  (Poor thing) She pants, shakes and paces around the room trying to get my attention.  Well, she got it! 😮

I am up and have been for a bit now, I have my coffee at the sidelines and am enjoying the silence of the morning…other than the dog breathing at my feet…

Now, I realize I have not shared a recipe the last couple of weeks because of some unexpected happenings but yesterday I was thinking about my need to better manage my time.  It is extremely easy to lose time when caring for the kiddies.  But I started this blog as a way of self-expression and a sort of outlet for some creativity.  For a minute, I was forgetting what it was for and losing my focus.  It is important I keep this completely authentic and fun so I just have to allow it to take shape organically and give myself a bit of a break.  And so, I am cutting myself some slack and carrying on…

BBQ Meatloaf

So, last night I was looking for a quick prep and just wanted to throw something in the oven and walk away.  Meatloaf is extremely easy in my opinion and I had everything on hand.  I tend to buy meat in bulk and pre-portion, then freeze and base meals off of what I have in the freezer.  This usually can last a month or longer depending…but let’s just say it’s time to stock up!

Anyhow, I grew up eating meatloaf, my husband not so much but has since become a convert.  I realize some people are not that familiar with this dish.  But I like to say it’s just like a huge yummy meatball.  Whenever my mother would prepare this I would get so excited about the sandwiches I would be able to eat with the leftovers.  Best thing ever!

 

What You Will Need:20170223_175637

  • 1-1 1/2 lbs of ground beef (this is what I had on hand but have used equal parts ground beef and pork as well)
  • 1/4 cup of chopped onion
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp of Worcestershire
  • 1 tsp of Italian Seasoning
  • 1 tsp of dried parsley
  • 1 egg whisked
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 3/4 cup of bread crumbs (or a palmful, this is generally how I measure lol)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup of your fave barbecue sauce, divided in half (for this I use Sweet Baby Ray’s)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.  Add all ingredients to a large bowl.  Combine with hands.  Make sure not to over mix. Place mixture into a greased loaf pan and shape.  Cover pan with foil.  Bake for 1 hour.  Remove foil and top meatloaf with the remainder 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce.  Bake for additional 15 minutes.  Let sit for 5 minutes before removing and placing on serving plate.

Slice and enjoy! 🙂

20170223_191827

On another note, I have been doing my best to organize this new house of ours.  In doing so, I have come across quite the collection of cookbooks (Not to the extent I have seen in some homes but nevertheless).  I realized that in all the years that I have had these things I have probably tried a quarter of what is available to me.  So, as an experiment and an opportunity to better utilize the things I have at my disposal, my mission is to try them all, yep, all of them.  If I don’t use them they just become clutter, right?  I will share my fave every week and with links, if I can find them.  Some of these books are old!  Original recipes will still be shared too.  😉

I am excited to see how this goes….so, stay tuned!

20170222_140837

 

Have an amazing day!

 

sig-blog

One thought on “BBQ Meatloaf and stuff…

Leave a Reply

