Insomnia…My Enemy

“O sleep, O gentle sleep, Nature’s soft nurse, how have I frightened thee, 1710. That thou no more will weigh my eyelids down, And steep my senses in forgetfulness?”
-William Shakespeare, Henry IV, Part 2

Lately, I have been grappling with zombie like status.  I can’t fn sleep!  I am going about 4 days now and it’s arduous on so many levels.

This happens on and off.  I can go months sleeping soundly and feeling fulfilled and BOOM, I am a lady of my own nightmares…tossing and turning, replaying the same monotonous happenings of the day before.  Left feeling as if a truck ran me over three times and then just left me to live the day as if it never happened.

When this happens it’s like I get stuck in this cycle for a bit.  Like I can’t catch a break.  Something usually sets it into motion.  This time my son was having some issues sleeping quite a few days ago which set my sleepless nights into motion.  My husband gave me some time this past weekend to make up for all the missed rest and of course, I lay there staring at the ceiling almost watching myself in a dream like state until finally realizing an hour had passed with no rest being had.  It’s an endless cycle.

Insomnia.png

I may be stressed, anxious and overcome with contemplation.  I don’t know.  But my mind is my enemy….insomnia is my enemy right now.

I wish for a peaceful sleep.  Rest with no interruption.  Quiet and calm with no thought or crowded mind.  Just serenity.

This too shall pass but meanwhile I walk the days like a zombie.  Just kind of living but a little foggy, a little slower, and a bit more passive.

On to the new week with hopes of a sound sleep.

 

name-sig-blog

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

