Ropa Vieja

Recipe courtesy of the book Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2009.

Today I wanted to share a recipe I came across in my cookbook collection, named Ropa Vieja.  This is part of my effort to utilize the references I have on hand (stated last week) and this turned out to be a very good recipe.

This is a Cuban Stew that requires braising of the meat until it can be shredded.  I braise a lot in my house so I was happy to try this out.  I used skirt steak for this instead of flank, only because it was what I had on hand.  It turned out really well.

This can be eaten with tortillas and served with some rice.

I halved this recipe to make 4 servings.  Written as such.

What You Will Need:

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 lb Flank Steak, trimmed (I had Skirt Steak on hand)
  • 1/2 large red onion sliced thin
  • 1 red bell pepper sliced into strips
  • 1 green bell pepper sliced into strips
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 tablespoons thinly sliced pitted green olives
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups of beef broth
  • 1/2 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

Coat a Dutch oven with Olive Oil.  Heat on medium-high heat.  I seasoned the steak with salt & pepper and browned them on both sides, about 2-3 minutes each side.  Remove and put to the side.

Reduce heat and add the onions and bell peppers and cook until tender.  Stir in garlic, olives and next 5 ingredients.  Cook until fragrant.  Add vinegar, loosening the brown bits at the bottom with a wooden spoon and cook 2 minutes or until some liquid has evaporated. Then add the beef broth, tomato paste and bay leaf.  Cover, reduce heat and cook for 1 1/2 hours.

Remove steaks and shred with two forks.  Return to the pot along with the cilantro and stir.

Enjoy!

20170227_175021

Recommended to bring some heat to the table to add.  We like things hot in our house.  🙂

Reference the original recipe for wine pairing ideas!

Excited to see what else I can find right under my nose. 🙂

Cheers!

sig-blog

 

Leave a Reply

